The presentations can be held in Galician, Spanish, Portuguese or English. The preferred time is 20 minutes.
The potential participants should send the extracts of their presentations, which shall not exceed the limit of 200 words, along with the following details:
• Author’s name
• Academic affiliation
• E-mail address
• Five key words
• Type of participant (general/ PhD student)
All proposals should be send to the e-mail address of the symposium: before November 30th 2015. The candidates will be informed before December 30th 2015 whether their proposals have been accepted.


Organizational Committee Members


Maria Boguszewicz (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Ana Garrido González (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Bartosz Dondelewski (Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Poland)
Marcos Arcaya (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Aleksandra Gocławska (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Aleksandra Jackiewicz (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Marta Kobiela-Kwaśniewska (Uniwersytet Śląski, Poland)
Rebeca Lema (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Antía Marante Arias (Christian-Albrechts- Universität zu Kiel, Germany)
Marta Pawlikowska (Uniwersytet Łódzki, Poland)
Daria Salamonowska (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Juliana Serpentini (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Urszula Wilk (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)

Scientific board

María Xosé Agra (Consello da Cultura Galega, Spain)
Anxo Angueira (Universidade de Vigo, Spain)
Urszula Aszyk (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Beata Baczyńska (Uniwersytet Wrocławski , Poland)
Luís Bará Torres (Independent investigator, Spain)
María do Cebreiro (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)
Brad Epps (University of Cambridge, UK)
Helena González Fernández (Universitat de Barcelona, Spain)
Carme Fernández Pérez-Sanjulián (Universidade da Coruña, Spain)
Maria Filipowicz (Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Poland)
Anna Kalewska (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Barbara Łuczak (Uniwersytet Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu, Poland)
Xosé Manoel Núñez Seixas (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
Aurora Marco López (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)
Zofia Marzec (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Carmen Mejía (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
Tadeusz Miłkowski (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Henrique Monteagudo (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)
Katarzyna Moszczyńska (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)
Magda Potok (Uniwersytet Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu, Poland)
María Reimóndez Meilán (Independent investigator, Spain)
Anna Sawicka (Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Poland)
Piotr Sawicki (Wyższa Szkoła Filologiczna we Wrocławiu, Poland)
Beatriz Suárez Briones (Universidade de Vigo, Spain)
Laura Tato Fontaiña (Universidade da Coruña, Spain)
Dolores Vilavedra (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain)

Call for papers: Identity and Gender in Galicia: an Interdisciplinary Perspective

The symposium will attempt an interdisciplinary reflection on the identity – or the multiple collective identities – that have emerged along the complex history of Galicia. From the Celt myths and the Atlantis to the unique structures created by the exiled Galicians in Latin America, we will try to chase this alternative cultural identity in a transnational context, seeking support in various contemporary postcolonial theories that question both the metropolitan hegemony and the cultural homogeneity. We will focus our attention to the transcultural studies and the creation of the subaltern identities.
Nowadays, the cultural identity exploration has redirected entirely what was once considered to constitute the center and the margins. It is the globalization, a process that seemingly announced an apocalyptic end of the cultural diversity, the very reason for many theorists to take a closer look at the supposed margins. As a consequence, the minority identities have become central, they are now the main protagonists of the contemporary studies dedicated to analyze the identity construction in a transcultural context. Since feminism and sexual diversity studies provide the fundamental theoretical tools for the identity creation of the excluded and the marginalized, it is not surprising that the feminist movement in Galicia has such long history, and that the so called “purple trend” (moda violeta) has come to abolish the rule of canon and the marginal position of female writers.
The aim of this encounter is to create a complex picture as well as to engage in a meticulous traverse throughout the Galician case, of which we think as a paradigmatic example – an example that, for sure, will inspire many interesting reflections related to gender and identity studies in transcultural contexts.
Many national and international experts will join the symposium, among whom we shall name such professors as Dolores Vilavedra from Universidade de Santiago de Compostela or Helena González Fernández from Centre Dona i Literatura, Universitat de Barcelona.

Theme lines

Theorists specialized in cultural studies as well as in literature, history or linguistics are invited to participate. We suggest the below theme lines for the presentations, however, we are always happy to receive alternative proposals, as long as they follow the symposium’s main topic:
1. Literature written by women in Galicia
2. Literature as a tool to develop a cultural and sexual identity in Galicia.
3. Feminism as a cultural and historical phenomenon in Galicia.
4. Feminism and the condition of women in Galicia: a linguistic and a sociolinguistic perspective.
5. Neofalantes – new identities, new discourses.
6. New identities on the cultural map of Galicia.
7. Emigration and identity. Transnational identity: “I am Galician, I come from…”.
8. Cyberspace and identity.
9. History of women in Galicia.
10. Historical memory: a gender perspective.
11. Recovering the collective memory in Galicia.

Confirmed plenary speakers:

María Xosé Agra (Consello da Cultura Galega, España)

Maria Filipowicz (Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Polonia)

Carme Fernández Pérez-Sanjulián (Universidade da Coruña, España)

Helena González Fernández (Universidade de Barcelona, España)

Tadeusz Miłkowski (Universidade de Varsovia, Polonia)

Beatriz Suárez Briones (Universidade de Vigo, España)

Dolores Vilavedra (Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, España)